Skip to main content

Application Eligibility

The Nova Scotia Practice Ready Assessment Program (NSPRAP) is an assessment program for international medical graduates (IMGs) who:

  • have completed residencies in family medicine outside of Canada; and
  • are unable to meet Nova Scotia licensing requirements.

Applicants must meet all of the following eligibility requirements:

  1. You are a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant or hold a work permit; and
  2. You have graduated from a Medical School listed in the World Directory of Medical Schools. The School must include the Canada Sponsor note; and
  3. You meet the College’s English Language Proficiency criteria; and
  4. You have at least two years of postgraduate training in an international jurisdiction leading to registration or recognition as a general/family physician in that jurisdiction.
    1. You must demonstrate completion of a minimum of eight weeks in each of the six core rotations:
      1. Family Medicine/General Practice;
      2. Internal Medicine;
      3. Surgery;
      4. Pediatrics;
      5. Psychiatry*;and
      6. Obstetrics and Gynecology*, and

    *At the discretion of the Registrar, candidates for practice ready assessment in Family Medicine, may be excused the requirement for eight weeks of postgraduate training in Psychiatry and/or Obstetrics/Gynecology, provided they have the equivalent amount of extra training in Family Medicine.

  5. You have a PASS standing on the Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Exam (MCCQE) Part 1 Examination; and
  6. You have a PASS standing in either the Medical Council of Council of Canada National Assessment Collaboration (MCC NAC) OSCEor the MCCQE Part II Examination; and
  7. Your medical degree, medical licenses/registration and postgraduate training letters have been source verified through;and
  8. You have at least two years of independent family medicine/general practice in a community setting, at least 12 weeks of which must have taken place within three years of the date of application to the practice ready assessment (PRA) program.
  9. You have fewer than two prior failed attempts in Canadian practice ready assessment programs.

For more information, please contact the College at