Skip to main content


The Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia is responsible for the governance and regulation of the medical profession in accordance with the Nova Scotia Medical Act and its regulations.

The College’s governing Council includes physician members, public members, a member appointed by the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of Dalhousie University, a member elected to the Residents’ position and a Dalhousie Medical Students’ Society appointee. Physician members are elected by physicians in the following districts:

  • District #1 – The counties of Antigonish, Guysborough, Inverness, Richmond, Victoria and Cape Breton
  • District #2 – The counties of Pictou, Cumberland and Colchester
  • District #3 – The counties of Yarmouth, Shelburne, Queens and Lunenburg
  • District #4 – The counties of Hants, Kings, Annapolis and Digby
  • District #5 – The county of Halifax

Council meetings are held four times per year. All members of Council sit on one or more committees of the College. These committees include:

  • Assessment Committee
  • Executive Committee
  • Finance and Audit Committee
  • Independent Review Committee
  • Internal Review Subcommittee
  • Investigation Committees
  • Nominating Committee
  • Peer Review Committee
  • Professional Standards Committee
  • Registration Committee
  • Registration Appeal Committee
  • Reinstatement Committee

Council Members for 2018-2019

Physician Members

Dr. Mary Oxner (Public Member)

Dr. William Stanish

Dr. Farokh Buhariwalla
Dr. Rebecca Taylor Clarke
Dr. Andria MacAulay
Dr. Cindy Marshall
Dr. John Ross
Dr. Trevor Topp

Public Members

Ms. Sandra Aylward
Ms. Michele Brennan
Mr. Richard Nurse
Mr. Mark Rosen

Dalhousie University Faculty of Medicine Appointee

Dr. Martin J. Gardner

Maritime Resident Doctors Appointee

Dr. Caitlin Lees

Dalhousie Medical Students’ Society Appointee

Malik Ali