Site Search
Skip to main content

Gold-Headed Cane Award Recipients


Dr. David Brake
Sydney, Nova Scotia

Dr. David Brake, BSC, MD, FRCPC, FCCP

The College’s Gold-Headed Cane Award recognizes an outstanding Nova Scotia physician who exemplifies professionalism in service to patients, the profession and community.

The College is pleased to announce Dr. David Brake as the recipient of its 2018 Gold-Headed Cane Award. Dr. Brake is a Respirologist and Intensive Care Specialist. Recognized for working tirelessly on behalf of his patients, Dr. Brake has practised in Sydney for twenty years.

A Memorial University Medical School graduate, Dr. Brake later became Chief Resident of Internal Medicine at Dalhouise University. Dr. Brake went on to study at the University of Western Ontario where he obtained subspecialty training in Respirology.  At Western, he also became the Chief Resident of the Critical Care Program along with completing a Fellowship in Critical Care Medicine.

Dr. Brake exemplifies professionalism and service to his patients through his many leadership positions which include: Medical Director of Critical Care Medicine at the Cape Breton Regional Hospital as well as the Medical Director of its Pulmonary Lab. Dr. Brake is co-founder of the Cape Breton Chest Clinic.  He is also the Physician Lead (Critical Care) of the Cape Breton Regional Hospital Redevelopment Project.

As well, Dr. Brake has made significant and regular contributions to Continuing Medical Education for his own department and in the Department of Family medicine.

The College’s annual province-wide recognition is awarded as part of a co-sponsored Gold-Headed Cane ceremony in partnership with the Humanities in Medicine Program at Dalhousie University Medical School.  The award was presented to Dr. Brake at the Gold-Headed Awards dinner on May 3rd, 2019.


Dr. Richard Hall
Halifax, Nova Scotia


Dr. Peter Jackson
East Bay, Nova Scotia


Dr. Mandi Irwin
Halifax, Nova Scotia


Dr. John Fraser
Halifax, Nova Scotia


Dr. Geoffrey Turnbull
Halifax, Nova Scotia


Dr. Michael Igoe
Sydney, Nova Scotia


Dr. Rajender Parkash
Halifax, Nova Scotia


Dr. Timothy Benstead
Halifax, Nova Scotia


Dr. Anne Barry
Kentville, Nova Scotia


Dr. Lynn Johnston
Halifax, Nova Scotia