Site Search
Skip to main content

New College President

The College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia is pleased to announce that Dr. James MacLachlan of Westville has been appointed College President for the 2014-2016 term.

Dr. MacLachlan, a family physician currently on staff at the Aberdeen Hospital in New Glasgow had previously served as Chief of Staff at the Annapolis Royal Hospital. Dr. MacLachlan was first elected to Council in 2008.

Elections were held for 2 seats in District 5 (Halifax County). Dr. Elizabeth Mann, a Halifax internist and past College President, was re-elected and Dr. Trevor Topp, a Halifax surgeon, was elected.

Dr. Martin Gardner, a Halifax cardiologist, was appointed as the Dalhousie University Medical School representative to Council.

The College extends thanks to all physicians who ran in the Council election and to all those who served on Council and committees in the past year.